Resources for families during the coronavirus outbreak

Work in progress. Please contact us with more things we can add to this list!

(1) 13 museums you can visit online during your quarantine at Buzzfeed

(1a) Paris Museums Put 100,000 Images Online for Unrestricted Public Use

(1c) Take a trip to your favorite New York City museums with these virtual tours

(2) Many of you might be aware you can borrow books and even watch video online from the Livingston Parish Library using the Hoopla app. I have installed Hoopla on my Android phone *and* on our Roku device at home. I have used it a few times to borrow books and to watch shows/movies.

While we are on the subject the Livingston Parish Library offers a variety of resources (eBooks, video, music, even eComics) through their digital library. Yes you can access these resources through the Hoopla app mentioned above. *However* I notice Livingston Parish Library also offers video resources through Kanopy. I am a huge fan of Kanopy and also have it installed on my phone and Roku device.

Kanopy KidsKanopy is especially good for classic and foreign cinema, documentaries, short films. (I am also a huge fan of the Great Courses – basically university-level courses – and have purchased several for personal use. East Baton Rouge Parish Library makes many available through Kanopy. Livingston Parish Library makes some available through Hoopla.)

Kanopy also has Kanopy Kids with a huge variety of offerings.

(3) Check this one out. Knowledge on the Go by Great Minds.

Our teachers and teacher–writers know it’s important for students to build knowledge every day, even when schools are closed. That’s why we are providing knowledge-building resources here—written materials for math (Grades K–12) and daily instructional videos for English language arts (Grades K–8), math (Grades K-12), and science (Grades 3–5). We will post new video lessons and update our content daily. 

(3a) Here’s the Entire List of Education Companies Offering Free Subscriptions due to School Closing

(4) Home Safari Cincinnati Zoo on YouTube. Awesome home safari videos at Cincinnati Zoo.

(4b)Zoos live-stream exhibits to entertain housebound animal lovers. Streaming videos from Brookfield Zoo. Look on the right side of the screen. New video every day at 11 a.m.

(5) New England Aquarium Is Live Streaming “Virtual Visits” With Activities For Kids

As you know I consider Massachusetts my home state and although it’s been a long time I visited the New England Aquarium several times and it’s one of the best in the nation.

(6) The Quarantined Family – A Live Stream Event Powered by Parentzmatter – Free but you do need to register. Recommended by a friend who is a pastor I trust and respect.

(7) Tips for Teaching Kids the Bible – Very accessible suggestions. Associated with the Christian Standard Bible – a Bible translation initiated by Southern Baptists although scholars of other denominations played a role. I have looked at it and it is a good reliable translation of the Scriptures.

I took a second look and recognize one of the translators Andrew Das. He was finishing his PhD at Union Theological Seminary while I was working on my MDiv. Great guy and an excellent scholar of the New Testament.

(8) Okay not many may go for this but Night Met Opera Streams (live[?] stream performances from the New York Metropolitan Opera). I used to watch two or three such performances every year at local movie theaters. The Met Opera has suspended their performances. I do not know if they will still make performances available online.

My interest in opera began when our second daughter (who was in Talented Drama) had a field trip to a live broadcast performance of “La Cenerentola” by Rossini. I thought “ugh opera” but after it finished we left the theater utterly delighted. I later donated to the Met Opera and had a subscription to Opera News magazine. I’m not bragging but our other daughter and I made it through a five hour performance of Wagner’s Die Walküre which was long but outstanding.

This entry was posted in Announcement, Information. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment